top of page
  • Writer's pictureLinda Gates

Shit Town - a podcast review

Updated: Feb 6, 2019


Recently I decided to try podcasts as an alternative to reading or an audio book. I must admit I tried a few but struggled to get into them, and found that I fell asleep within 2 minutes every time. But then that can happen with audio books too. At least with the Kindle, the pages don't carry on turning and the following night you are back where you left (dropped) off. With audio files I am certain I listen to the same thing night after night.


Anyway, I came across Serial, which is an investigative journalism podcast hosted by Sarah Koenig, narrating a nonfiction story over multiple episodes. The series was co-created and is co-produced by Koenig and Julie Snyder and developed by This American Life. Season one investigated the 1999 murder of Hae Min Lee , Season two focused on Sergeant Bowe Bergdahl, an American Army soldier who was held for five years by the Taliban, and then charged with desertion. There is also a Season three out now. I haven't listened to these in entirety yet, but they led me to a podcast they also produced called S-Town


It got me hooked like a good book you can't put down and I had many sleep-deprived nights. It is hosted by Brian Reed and tells the fascinating and tragic story of a brilliant antiquarian horologist John B. McLemore.



John B McLemore

In brief without spoilers, John sent an email to the staff of the show This American Life asking

them to investigate an alleged murder in his hometown of Woodstock, Alabama, a place McLemore claimed to despise. (Hence S-Town or 'shit town'). After a year of exchanging emails, and several months of conversation with McLemore, producer Brian Reed traveled to Woodstock to investigate.




It ends up being a story about so much more, and is touching and devastating.


Brian Reed

You will hear recorded conversations with McLemore and other people in Woodstock, which are played on the podcast. There are some poignant anecdotes and some macabre humour running through it, and I found myself reflecting back on this story for months to come.







Excellently produced and I highly recommend it.



Maybe we will see a movie one day...



brb



6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

V Day

bottom of page